Sri Lanka: a president will be elected on July 20, Prime Minister Wickremesinghe sworn in as interim president

As required by the constitution, Wickremesinghe was sworn in in the presence of Supreme Court President Jayantha Jayasuriya, Wickremesinghe’s office said in a statement.

Sri Lankan Parliament Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana announced on Friday morning that he had accepted Mr. Rajapaksa’s resignation, while he is in Singapore, two days after fleeing the country under pressure from protesters.

The Sri Lankan Parliament will elect an MP on July 20 to succeed Mr. Rajapaksa until the end of the term, that is to say November 2024, the office of the Speaker of Parliament announced on Friday.

Nominations for the presidency will be received on July 19 and MPs will have to vote the next day, the House Speaker’s Office explained in a brief statement.

Mr. Rajapaksa fled his residence on Saturday, stormed by demonstrators accusing him of his mismanagement at a time when Sri Lanka is going through the most serious economic crisis in its history.

After managing to leave his country on Wednesday to go to the Maldives, he took a plane to Singapore on Thursday, from where he sent his resignation letter.

He is the first head of state to step down since Sri Lanka opted for presidential rule in 1978.

Leave a Comment