World Cup 2026: FIFA confirms 16 host cities for the event in Canada, the United States and Mexico

FIFA confirmed this Thursday the 16 host cities for the 2026 World Cup, the first in history to be played in three countries (Canada, the United States and Mexico).

FIFA announced this Thursday the 16 cities that will host the 2026 World Cup, which will be held in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

On Aztec soil, Mexico City, Guadalajara and Monterrey are among the chosen ones. These cities were the three candidates proposed in Mexico and all of them went on to the final FIFA selection.

The United States will assume most of the tournament and will have 11 venues of the 16 in total of the World Cup: Seattle, San Francisco Bay Area, Los Angeles, Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, Boston, Philadelphia, Miami, and New York/New Jersey.

On the part of Canada, Vancouver and Toronto They were chosen to host the 2026 World Cup.

Outside the list were the other candidates who had presented themselves to host: Edmonton in Canada; and Cincinnati, Denver, Nashville, Orlando and Baltimore/Washington DC in the US.

The 2026 World Cup will be the first to have 48 teams instead of the current 32 and the first to be organized by three countries jointly.

For Mexico it will be the third time that the FIFA World Cup lands in their country after the 1970 and 1986 tournaments, while the United States will repeat as organizer after the 1994 edition.

Canada, on the other hand, will debut as the organizing country although in 2015 it hosted the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Leave a Comment