Mario Vargas Llosa will attend the IV Biennial organized in Guadalajara

The Peruvian Nobel Prize in Literature, Mario Vargas Llosa, will head the Fourth Biennial that bears his name and which will be held for the second time in Guadalajara, from 23 to 26 September with the participation of 31 Ibero-American writers and in whose meeting will give the decision and delivery of the Fourth Prize for Novel Mario Vargas Llosa.

With the motto “Literature, last refuge of freedom”, the meeting that is organized by the Vargas Llosa Chair, the University of Guadalajara, the International Foundation for Freedom and the University of Guadalajara Foundation, with the support of the Guadalajara International Book Fair (FIL), will have the presence of Mario Vargas Llosa at the opening ceremony, as reported by FIL through a statement.

During the first day of the Biennial a conversation will be held with the Award finalists: Selva Almada (Argentina), Rosa Montero (Spain), Carmen Boullosa (Mexico), Alejandro Zambra (Chile) and Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Colombia), moderated by the writer and journalist Patricia del Río (Peru).

Raúl Tola, Peruvian writer and journalist, who directs the Vargas Llosa Chair, points out: “We are very excited to start this fourth edition in Guadalajara, which has welcomed the Vargas Llosa Biennial in style, and that we have been able to move forward, amid the difficulties of the pandemic, thanks to the valuable support of the University of Guadalajara and its work teams, “explains Raúl.

Also participating in the meeting, among other writers: Carlos Franz (Chile), Rodrigo Blanco (Venezuela), Santiago Roncagliolo (Peru), Leila Guerriero (Argentina), Giovanna Pollarolo (Peru), Alberto Ruy Sánchez (Mexico), Karina Sainz Borgo (Venezuela), Carmen Villoro (Mexico), Olga Merino (Spain), Pedro Llosa (Peru), Ana García Bergua (Mexico), Gabriela Cabezón Cámara (Argentina), Renato Cisneros (Peru) and Cecilia Eudave (Mexico).
In addition to Rafael Rojas (Cuba), Mónica Lavín (Mexico), Dolores Reyes (Argentina), Santiago Gamboa (Colombia), David Unger (Guatemala), Jorge Eduardo Benavides (Peru) and Juan Tallón (Spain). The play Al pie del Támesis, by Mario Vargas Llosa, directed by Antonio Castro, with the participation of Azucena Evans and Martín Altomaro, will also be premiered.


The Fourth Mario Vargas Llosa Novel Biennial It will have as headquarters the Santander Group of Performing Arts and the Enrique Díaz de León Auditorium of the University of GuadalajaraIn the latter, the meeting will be closed, which will feature a talk between the Argentine journalist Leila Guerriero, the Mexican writer Rosa Beltrán and the Nobel Prize winner for Literature Mario Vargas Llosa.

At the end of this conversation, the author of “Conversation in the Cathedral” will participate in the decision and delivery of the Fourth Prize for Novel Mario Vargas Llosa.

The titles of the finalist works for the Prize are: “Back the view back” (Alfaguara, 2021) by Juan Gabriel Vásquez; “It’s not a river” (Random House, 2020) by Selva Almada, “Chilean Poet” (Anagrama, 2020) by Alejandro Zambra; “Good luck” (Alfaguara, 2020) by Rosa Montero, and “Eva’s book” (Alfaguara, 2020) by Carmen Boullosa.

To this Fourth Prize Biennial Vargas Llosa 412 works were registered, from all Spanish-speaking countries. The first edition of the contest fell on “Forbidden to enter without pants” (Seix Barral), by the Spanish Juan Bonilla; the second edition in the work “Si te vieras con mis ojos” (Alfaguara), by the Chilean Carlos Franz, and the third edition was for “The Night” (Alfaguara), by the Venezuelan Rodrigo Blanco Calderón.

All the activities, except the work “At the foot of the Thames” (tickets at They are free entry and with limited capacity. The dialogue tables will be broadcast live on Channel 44 from the University of Guadalajara and, por streaming, on the Facebook pages of the UDG, the Fourth Mario Vargas Llosa Novel Biennial and the Guadalajara International Book Fair.

Keep reading…

If you were interested in this news and want to know more, then download and discover INFORMAPlus, EL INFORMADOR’s digital application, where we have exclusive content, selected by our editors, to give readers a more complete experience.

Download the app and give it a try FOR FREE for thirty days.

If you are a subscriber of THE INFORMER, your access is included, request it at 33 3678-7777



  • Mario Vargas Llosa
  • Literature
  • Fourth Prize Biennial Vargas Llosa
  • FIL
  • Writers

Read also

Leave a Comment