Lille has to settle for a point against Wolfsburg

EFE

A willful Lille, who gave him impetus and eagerly sought victory on their return to the Champions League, it was not enough to overturn the order imposed by Wolfsburg, who took a point (0-0) holding the result.

Download the beIN SPORTS app and take us everywhere! Receive up-to-the-minute information, all our content and the best monitoring of your favorite leagues on your device IOS O :calling: Android.

The champions of France, very come down this season, they put more quality heart to try to start with triumph his return to the maximum European competition, where in the last editions in which he has participated he had left a poor image.

But he found himself with a rival who bets on the order imposed by the Dutch coach Mark van Bommel, a former Barcelona player among others, who leads the table in his country where he counts matches by victories.

The Germans disputed the last half hour with one less man and they saw how the VAR annulled a goal from Lille, that did not stop looking for victory, but showed lack of quality.

Nothing like this team with the solid champion of last season. The relief on the bench, where Jocelyn Gourvennec has replaced Christophe Galtier, who left for Nice after winning the title, does not yet seem to give the expected results.

The team is struggling to score and is twelfth in its league in a poor start to the season.

That lack of confidence was noticeable in the European duel, despite the fact that they dominated the game and had the best chances, especially in Yilmaz boots, but Casteels was right under the sticks and avoided the goal.

In 48 David succeeded, but the review of a previous play showed that the ball had gone out and the referee canceled it.

The French dominance increased when in 62 Brooks saw the second yellow and pushed the Germans even further back, who clung to defend the tie.

Lille dreamed again in the last minute of injury time, when the referee signaled a penalty in their favor, but the VAR review showed that the foul had occurred outside the area.

Leave a Comment