Learn how to unblock someone on Instagram

DT en Español could receive a commission if you buy a product from the site

No matter the reason, blocking users on Instagram is a totally valid action and, in some cases, necessary. However, what if you change your mind and wish to reopen the doors to the outcasts? No problem. Everything can be compensated: below we tell you how to unblock someone on instagram.

You will be interested in:

How to unblock someone on Instagram

From your mobile phone

If you use the app of Instagram in your smartphone, go to your profile by tapping the icon in the lower right corner. Then tap on the icon Menu in the upper right corner (the three stripes) to display the Choices. Then touch Setting at the bottom of the menu.

Then go to Privacy, where you will find, almost to the bottom, the section of Blocked accounts. Tap it and you will see all the users you have previously blocked. Click on them to open their profiles. Then just tap To unlock.

Instagram will ask you if you are sure you want to unblock this person. You are, right? Well then select Unlock again and voila.

From your computer

Although most of us probably use Instagram only – or mostly – on our phones, you can also unblock people from a computer. The Instagram web portal is not as developed as its app, but still allows you to control most of the aspects related to the administration of your account.

First, go to instagram website and log in to your account. The website does not provide you with the same menu of options as the app, so you can’t just get a list of blocked users. Instead, you will need to type the name of the person you want to unblock in the search bar. Once you click on their profile, click on the icon Menu (three dots) next to your username, and select To unlock.

According to Instagram, people you unblock will not receive a notification about it, so unlocking is a discreet procedure. However, you should keep in mind that this does not mean that you will be their friend again. When you block someone on this social network, you remove them from your followers and you are also removed from theirs. Therefore, you will have to start following him again if you want to see his posts on your feed. Hopefully this person won’t ask you uncomfortable questions about why you blocked it. And if he starts wondering… you will always have the option to re-lock it.

Editor’s Recommendations




Leave a Comment